The Sputnik Sweetheart and a Gaga quote. And a cute vid.

I am reading a book by Haruki Murakami called Sputnik Sweetheart.

I used it, coincidentally, in my Dissertation, in one of the opening passages, quoting the first page:

“In the spring of her twenty-second year, Sumire fell in love for the first time in her life. An intense love, a veritable tornado sweeping across the plains – flattening everything in its path, tossing things up in the air, ripping them to shreds, crushing them to bits.”[Ch1 p3 Vintage London 2002]

It is very good, so go buy it right now. I’m thoroughly enjoying it; Murakami is an unfathomable ease in reading, something I hope I have, despite obviously not churning out billions of bestsellers.

Lady Gaga last night, on the Paul O’Grady special, said [something along the lines of [when I get the actual quote I’ll pop it in]]:

“I truly believe that if you have the potential to change the world, you have an absolute moral obligation and duty to do everything you can to do so.”

I agree. Kudos, Gaga. It has put a lot of things in perspective for me.

Coram

xXx

ps – what I forgot to post yesterday, the best video ever. I heart them.

About Jean

All content is © 2012 Jean Hollywood. All rights reserved.
This entry was posted in General Ramble. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

