Old and Foul Things

So just a very quick note in  procrastination from revision and essay writing!

I am currently fine-tuning an essay entitled ‘Surely two people of the same sex can be as ‘complementary’ as two people of the opposite sex?’

In which I have read a work of the Emeritus Professor of Law at University College Oxford, John Finnis, called Reason, Faith and Homosexual Acts, and subsequently torn it to shreds. First and foremost, due to his constant interchanging of the termsbiological sex, gender and sexual orientation as though the three are the same thing (they aren’t, for the record), and secondly by the fact that he says we have a ‘sexual identity’ (true, of course) but then dictates as to what that might be! Not to mention his conclusion, which ends ignoratio elenchi.

He is, in all open opinion of my own, a gobshite, so do take a read, and get as angry as I did.

If you want to know, there is a hell of a lot of work in terms of being a religiouser and also being a gay – for instance Elizabeth Stuart of the University of Winchester, ex-Jesuit John J. McNeill and Dr. Jeffrey John – and from what I’ve read of John Finnis, his work is nothing but wicked and homophobic to an extraordinarily evil degree.

Unfortunately I decided against sending the following to his e-mail:

‘Dear Professor Finnis,

I am an undergraduate of Heythrop College in the University of London. I came across your work entitled “Reason, Faith and Homosexual Acts’ and am as such referencing it in an essay entitled 
‘”Two people of the same sex can be as ‘complementary’ as two people of the opposite sex” Discuss.’

In response to this work, I would like to merely say that I expected much more from an Emeritus Professor of Law (least of all in a place like Oxford you silly sausage!) and also – what is that phrase that the young people say – oh yes, schoolboy error. 

What I can however say in favour of it is that it has truly beefed up my essay, and in terms of the amount of work the Vatican chucks out annually that I rip to shreds in my undergraduate essays, yours is by far some of the finest. 

I hope that your work does not reach the wrong hands (such as for instance, the followers of the late Osama Bin Laden or Lord Voldemort) and has not influenced some of the true evils that are going on in the world, such as those in Uganda and other African states, not to mention the Caribbean, regarding homosexual rights.

But from Oxford, I daresay you’ve not the foggiest idea what I’m talking about, being a Law Professor you probably wouldn’t know the difference between right and wrong if it was shoved up your nose, and being a repressed and sexually inactive member of the male species you wouldn’t understand the true and divine beauty of sex, orientation nor gender (which are apparently interchangeable, from your work) if the most angelic transsexual woman walked past you in six inch heels and batted her eyelids.

So thank-you so much and kind regards,

Coram’

Such a pity, such a pity. Wretched, indeed.

Anywho – apologies for the venom I exemplify here, let’s hope that the days continue in getting warmer and the exams continue in becoming over.

Many peaces and loves xXx

ps – watching Lord of the Rings with my housemate, and Gandalf just said “Be on your guard. There are older and fouler things than Orcs in the deep places of the world.”

Which encouraged me to also link the following, from the dear lovely Adele. You have probably heard it a million times on the radio, but I cannot get over her voice.

About Jean

All content is © 2012 Jean Hollywood. All rights reserved.
This entry was posted in LGBTs, Religiousers, The Love Game. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

